Fine Arts award winners named

Staff Writer
Jennifer Edwards
Big Lake students who won awards in the fine arts  were celebrated at a recent banquet. Awards were given for choir, one-act play, art, poetry outloud and instrumental accomplishments.
Teacher Kim Holz presented the awards for the one-act play. Aliyah Agyekum won a participation and spotlight on scholarship awards. 
Karrissa Bechtold lettered and won all-conference performer and spotlight on scholarship awards.  
Amelia Hultin also lettered and was named all-conference honorable mention for cast member. Baylee Jacobs lettered and won an all-conference technical crew award. Jamie Schwartz lettered and won a spotlight on scholarship award. 
Kaylee Wagner received a certificate of participation and was all-conference honorable mention for technical crew. 
Heather Yanta lettered and won an all-conference performer award. 
Shiloh Zoccoli lettered, won an all-conference performer award and a spotlight on scholarship award.
Teachers Laurie Sanchez and Claudia Forsberg presented art awards to Emily Berglund, Jenna Doeden, Mercedes Moshier, Claudia Bodem, Brittany Duerr, Courtney Dinsmore, Crystal Nordquist, Sam Featherstone, Caitlin Loeffler, Taylor Krebs, Jared Bradford, Kaitlin Pederson, Catie Eisenreich, Isa Brady and Sarah Peterson.
There were three winners in the Poerty Out Loud category, awarded by Laura Meyer. Senior Donnie Johnson took first place in the BLHS Poetry Out Loud competion. Junior Laurel Pietrzak was second and sophomore Shiloh Zoccoli was third. When they went on to compete at state, Pietrzak took second place.


(From left) Lexi Freund (Big Lake), Betsey Cornelius and Ben Cornelius (Nowthen), Gunner Dorweiler and Colton Dorweiler (Princeton), Ben Manning (Zimmerman), Bailey Dorweiller (Princeton) and Salene Krueger (Big Lake.) The county fair runs from July 16-19. (Photo by Ken Francis.)

Dr. Lola Sutherland is retiring from clinical practice after 33 years in the Big Lake community. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards.)

SMITTY’S AMATEUR FIDDLERS CONTEST drew 22 musicians to compete in Big Lake this year. They were accompanied by Gilmore Lee.

LEE GERHARDSON, 47, from New London, was found dead in Big Lake near the swimming beach in 10 feet of water Monday. Cause of death is unknown at this time but foul play is not suspected.

Adopt-a-Road participants volunteer for Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) and work to clean roadsides that border and bisect refuge land. This spring, from April to June, approximately six individuals, three families, and seven groups, such as boy and girl scouts and 4-H groups, volunteered to clean countless miles of roads. (Submitted photo.)