2014 Geography Bee Participants Front Seated (L to R): Eli Flicker (1st Place), Alexander Hugh Prom (2nd Place). Middle Row (L to R): Gabby Gingras, Emma Shiota, Alex White, Justin Tolkkinen, Emma Pace. Back Row (L to R): Samuel Hart, Wil Gomez, Morgan Klein (3rd Place).

BLMS geography bee winners

Submitted Article
Congratulations to eighth grade student Eli Flicker for winning this year's school-level competition of the National Geography Bee.  
The bee was held Thurs., Jan. 9, in the middle school student center.  Eli was one of ten middle school students who participated in the event that helps raise awareness of the importance of national and world studies.   
Eighth grader, Alexander Hugh Prom, missed a tie-breaker question in the championship round to finish as runner-up.  Eighth grade student, Morgan Klein, took 3rd.  The Middle School Gifted and Talented Committee sponsored the school-level bee.  Advisors for the competition were teachers Jeff Vogel and Ann Segner.
The ten students selected to participate in the geography bee scored the highest on a preliminary test given to sixth, seventh and eighth grade students.  In the bee, participants answered questions regarding locations of world features as well as questions related to the cultures of various world groups.  
Bee winner, Eli Flicker, will now take a qualifying test to determine his eligibility to compete at the State Geography Bee.  The State Geography Bee will be held April 4, on the campus of Saint Cloud State University.  The winner of the State Bee will receive an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to participate in the National Geography Bee.  National participants will have a chance to win a $25,000 college scholarship as well as various other prizes and awards.  The national finals, to be held May 19-21, will be moderated by Soledad O’Brien, a CNN special correspondent.


NEW BIG LAKE BOUTIQUE OWNERS are Beth Koch, Shanna Romsdahl and Aadra Mielke.

FROM HOLLYHOCK FARM near Becker, Teresa Kukowski and her alpaca Francine have beautiful eyes and make beautiful garments from alpaca wool.

(L to R) Michelle Garcia and Steve Karel, two of the newest faces at the Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge, are looking forward to the opening of the Oak Savanna Learning Center in October. (Photo by Aleah Stenberg)

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE Big Lake’s Knowledge Bowl Team made their very first trip to state last week and came home with sixth place medals. Team members are (from the left), Jake Dickinson, Jack Flicker, Peter Wallace, Tim Poffenberger and Jacob Block. The team is coached by Teacher Angela McCormack. (Submitted photo).