New E-Cigarette regulations and free signs for all businesses

Submitted Article
Recent changes in state law have placed new regulations on the use of electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) in specific indoor spaces. As of July 1, 2014, e-cigarette use is prohibited in the following locations:
Licensed day care and foster care facilities
Health care facilities
Government buildings including those owned or operated by the state of Minnesota, any city, county, township, school district or any other political subdivision
Public universities
Department of Human Services-licensed facilities
Minnesota Department of Heath-licensed facilities subject to federal licensing regulations.
If you own or operate a business within the state of Minnesota that is not included in the list above, you have the option to establish an individual policy restricting the use of e-cigarettes. “Studies have found e-cigarette vapor contains nicotine, heavy metals and other toxic compounds,” said John Schmitz, MD, medical director of the Tobacco Cessation Program at Centracare Health. “There have been no long-term studies conducted on e-cigarettes, so the lasting impact of those exposed to secondhand vapor is unknown.”
Crave the Change highly encourages individual organizations, cities and counties to update their policies to restrict the use of e-cigarettes in all public places. 
For free sample policy language and signs, please contact Alicia Bauman, 320-251-2700, ext 77527 or baumana@centracare. com. 
Sign orders can also be requested at www.cravethe


MAX LOFGREN, getting fitted for a bike helmet by Scott Barta, told his mom Alisha the Bike Rodeo was “...the best place in the whole world.”

LIBERTY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL THIRD GRADERS made the audience shiver and shudder Tuesday night with Squirm!, their musical about creepy crawlie creatures. The production had lots of choreography with the singing as well as speaking roles and percussionists. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards).

Kara Zoller, Health Promotions Supervisor