CUB SCOUTS FROM PACK 93 held their Pinewood Derby at the Big Lake Town Hall in Lions Park. Evan Gerwing, and Travis and Tyler Anderson went on to compete at the district races.

Scouts celebrate with Pinewood Derby

Staff Writer
Jennifer Edwards
Every year, cub scouts from Pack 93 holds a mid-winter Pinewood Derby. The top three winners from each group go on to compete in the Pinewood Derby district competition to compete against other boys from across the region.
This year’s winners were  Evan Gerwing, Travis Anderson, and Tyler Anderson. Evan Gerwing took second place among the Wolves and second place overall in the district. Tyler Anderson took third place among the Wolves. Travis Anderson took first place among the Bears.
“The last few years we have brought home trophies from the district race,” says Scout Leader Katrine Nau.
The Pinewood Derby is a part of a 50-year tradition that brings boys and families together to compete, making derby cars.
“We bring in community support to help raise money to send boys to camp,” said Nau.  “It truly is a community and family affair.”
This year Mayor Raeanne Danielowski and Chief Joel Scharf of the Big Lake Police Dept. stopped in to show their support.
The race was dominated by the Anderson family this year.  Two-year old Alexis swept the open class race. 
The top winners from the each group were Tyler Bowman, Dylan McClure, Noah Buennich, and Jack Chivers from the Tigers, Tyler Anderson, Evan Gerwing, and Zack Smith from the Wolves, Travis Anderson, Braden Telega, and Spencer Lommel from the Bears, and  Kian Eisenschenk, Jason Farrand, and Niko Nau of the Webelows.


CUB SCOUTS FROM PACK 93 came to visit the newspaper office Monday. From left to right, they are Ben Nau, Graelynn Winter, Jonathan McCormack, Gabriel Winter and Caleb Nau. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards).

SUPERHEROES: WITH GREAT POWER COMES ORDINARY RESPONSIBILITY is the BLHS one-act play this year. Cast and crew includes faculty advisor Ryan Purdy, Shiloh Zoccoli, Baylee Jacobs, Laicole Dobie, Emily Hanson, Autumn Clyde, Justina Zou, Jamie Schwartz, Rick Holbrook, Karissa Bechtold, Alexander Hugh Prom, Hannah Schoening, Heather Yanta, Emma Thompson, Jessica Stenberg, Kaylee Wagner, Aliyah Agyekum, Savannah Mitchell, John Freund, Zarae Jackson, and Aaron Matushenko. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards).

CITY LEADERSHIP. Maddie Zinken will represent the BLHS Student Council as liaison to the Big Lake City Council. She will also represent Big Lake and the Big Lake Ambassador Program at the Aquatennial in Minneapolis as one of 42 contestants with a shot at being named Queen of the Lakes. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards).

BIG LAKE CITY COUNCIL recognized Public Works employee John Moshier, retiring after 34 years of service. From the left are City Council Member Seth Hansen, John Moshier Council Member Duane Langsdorf, Mayor Raeanne Danielowski, Council Member Nick Christenson, Council Member Mike Wallen and Public Works Director Mike Goebel. (Photo by Jennifer Edwards).